Catalyst Magazine

Meet UMB’s Educator of the Year

Russell McClain
Russell McClain, JD ’95

Russell A. McClain, JD
Francis King Carey
School of Law
Professor, Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, and Director, Academic Achievement Program

About Professor McClain

McClain, who grew up in Montgomery County and earned his bachelor’s degree from Howard University in Washington, D.C., graduated from the Carey School of Law in 1995. He has taught at his alma mater since 2006. He is a leading expert on the impact of implicit bias and stereotype threat on the academic progress of students from groups traditionally under-represented in law school. He has published two law review articles on the topic and wrote the book Guide to Law School for Minority Students.


McClain is regarded by his students and colleagues as one of the best teachers at the Carey School of Law. His students in courses such as Bar Exam Preparation, Contracts, and Commercial Law praise his communication and his willingness to discuss and analyze issues with different sides and perspectives. His colleagues appreciate his willingness to offer teaching guidance.


“My colleagues and I all need to be aware of the fact that our students, especially our new students, are looking for guidance from us in these challenging times. We are surrounded by overwhelming proof that racial and social injustice persists, and our students are looking to us to see how law and lawyers can make a difference. Our educational mission is as important as ever.” 

— McClain

“Professor McClain’s passion for teaching and education manifest in his classroom performance, his scholarship and research interests, and his administrative leadership. He is as devoted and accomplished an educator as I have seen.”

 — Donald B. Tobin, JD, dean and professor, Carey School of Law

Spread the love

Jen Badie

Jen Badie is the assistant director of editorial services in the Office of Communications and Public Affairs at the University of Maryland, Baltimore.

CATALYST magazine

Executive Board

Lynne Henry, Laura Kozak, Larry Kushner, Jennifer Litchman, Thomas Sullivan, Kate Ostrowski


Lynne Henry

Managing Editor

Chris Zang

Assistant Editor

Kate Ostrowski

Photography Director

Matthew D’Agostino


Michelle Baffuto

Web Director

Amir Chamsaz

Marketing Manager

Kristi McGuire